Прокрутка вверху

Моя дочь заявила, что хочет стать мужчиной. Затем сразу же объявили в социальных сетях. Я совершенно схожу с ума. Я знал, что она гей, с самого раннего возраста, ей сейчас 23 года. Я не хочу потерять своего ребенка. Я никогда не думал, что осуждаю, и вот я здесь. Мне нужны советы, предложения и все, что вы можете предложить.

Большое спасибо за обращение. Я знаю, что это может быть ошеломляющим опытом, и один из лучших первых шагов — попросить о помощи.

Я хочу начать с того, что скажу вам, что все будет хорошо. Вы не потеряете своего ребенка. Возможно, вам сейчас приходится нелегко, когда вы учитесь понимать то, что выглядит как очень быстрое, очень огромное изменение, но вы узнаете больше, вы будете осознавать это, и все будет в порядке. Узнать о том, что ваш ребенок трансгендер, может быть трудно, но это также может быть и прекрасно; теперь вы знаете, что ваш ребенок доверяет вам и хочет, чтобы вы знали больше о том, кто он на самом деле.

Я знаю, что для вас это выглядит так, как будто ваш ребенок заявил: «Я мужчина», а затем сразу же бросился публиковать об этом сообщения в социальных сетях, и это кажется очень быстрым. Важно иметь в виду, что трансгендеры редко (если вообще когда-либо) спешат объявлять подобную информацию. Обычно это происходит после очень, очень долгое время провел в обдумывании, беспокойстве и планировании. Вам это кажется быстрым, но, вероятно, вашему ребенку потребовалось очень много времени, чтобы смириться со своей личностью и почувствовать себя комфортно, делясь ею.

Несколько полезных шагов, которые вы можете предпринять прямо сейчас:

  1. Найдите группу поддержки, состоящую из других родителей детей-трансгендеров, чтобы у вас было место, где можно справиться со своими эмоциями не только вместе с ребенком. У JFCS есть (в настоящее время виртуальная) группа родителей, которая встречается ежемесячно – вы можете присоединиться. Электронная почта ggodel@jfcsphilly.org Чтобы получить больше информации.
  2. Почитайте о том, что значит быть трансгендером, иметь ребенка-трансгендера и быть родителем ребенка-трансгендера. Здесь являются некоторый полезный ссылки к начинать.
  3. Скажите своему ребенку, скажите своему сыну, что вы его любите. Что вам потребуется некоторое время и определенная работа, чтобы это осознать, но что вы благодарны за его честность и доверие к вам.

Это всего лишь отправная точка. С вашей стороны потребуется определенная работа, чтобы научиться поддерживать своего ребенка и научиться поддерживать себя, когда ваша жизнь меняется таким образом. Имейте в виду, это не то, о чем стоит оплакивать. Вы не теряете своего ребенка – вы узнаете больше о нем и о том, какова его личность на самом деле, и это невероятный способ установить связь. Вы получаете совершенно новый взгляд на их жизнь, и это дает возможность создать прекрасную связь между вами. Да, вы чувствуете себя подавленным, напуганным и не понимаете, что происходит, но вы это поймете. Вы узнаете о своем ребенке и узнаете о себе. Все будет хорошо.

Если у вас есть еще вопросы или вам нужна дополнительная поддержка, пожалуйста, анонимно напишите обратно Дорогому Элли или напишите мне по адресу ggodel@jfcsphilly.org

- Союзник

Russian

My daughter announced she was wanting to be a man - JFCS of Greater Philadelphia

Dear Ally,


My daughter announced she was wanting to be a man. Then right away announced on social media. I am completely freaking out. I have known she was gay since she was very young she is 23 now. I don't want to lose my child. I never thought I was judgemental and here I am. I need advice suggestions and anything you have to offer.

« BACK TO QUESTIONS
A

Thank you so much for reaching out. I know this can be an overwhelming experience, and one of the best first steps is asking for help.

I want to start by telling you that everything is going to be okay. You are not going to lose your child. You may be having a tough time right now, learning to understand what looks like a very quick, very huge change, but you will learn more and you will process, and it will be okay. Learning that your child is transgender can be a difficult thing to hear, but it can also be a beautiful thing; you now know that your child trusts you and wants you to know more about who they really are.

I know that it looks to you like your child announced “I’m a man,” and then immediately rushed into posting about it on social media, and that feels very quick. What is important to keep in mind is that transgender individuals rarely – if ever – rush into announcing this kind of information. It usually comes after a very, very long time spent deliberating and worrying and planning. It looks quick to you, but it’s probably taken your child a really long time to come to terms with their identity, and to feel comfortable sharing it.

Some helpful steps that you can take right now:

  1. Find a support group of other parents of transgender children, so you have somewhere to process your emotions that isn’t just with your child. JFCS has a (currently virtual) group of parents that meets monthly – you’d be welcome to join. Email ggodel@jfcsphilly.org for more information.
  2. Do some reading about what it means to be transgender, and to have a transgender child, and to be the parent of a transgender child. Here are some helpful links to start.
  3. Tell your child – tell your son – that you love him. That this is going to take some time and some work for you to process, but that you’re grateful for his honesty and trust in you.

This is just a starting place. It’s going to take some work on your part to learn how to support your child, and to learn how to support yourself as your life changes in this way. Keep in mind, this isn’t something to mourn. You aren’t losing your child – you’re learning more about them and what their identity really is, and that’s an incredible way to get to connect. You’re gaining a brand new perspective on what their life is like, and this has the opportunity to create a beautiful connection between you. Yes, you feel overwhelmed and scared and don’t know what’s going on, but you will figure it out. You will learn about your child and you will learn about yourself. Everything is going to be okay.

If you have any more questions, or want any more support, please feel invited to anonymously write back to Dear Ally, or to email me at ggodel@jfcsphilly.org

– Ally



Submit Your Question

  • Only the "Ask Your Question" field marked with * is required. All other fields are OPTIONAL.
  • All information is anonymous and confidential.
    A response will be directly sent to you if an email is provided.

JFCS Non-Discrimination Policy

ACAF Jewish Family and Children's Service of Greater Philadelphia 2015JFCS clients have a right to be treated with dignity and respect; free of all discrimination, including that which is based on race, age, sex, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, marital status, national origin, or disability; and not subject to any verbal, sexual, emotional, or physical abuse; or harsh or unfair treatment. To the extent possible, JFCS will make every reasonable accommodation to serve you consistent with our program services.

We are committed to affording opportunities to a diverse supplier base, while ensuring that JFCS receives the highest quality products and services at the most economical costs. JFCS desires to promote and enhance mutually beneficial business relationships within the diverse communities of which the Agency is a part. The Agency will make good faith efforts to utilize minority-owned, women-owned, disabled-owned businesses throughout the procurement processes. No preference will be given to any business group or classification.